Exceptions for Consumers in Disaster Areas - Illinois

Date Published: on Monday, December 30, 2013

The tornado and severe storms that occurred on November 17, 2013 in Illinois produced a disruption in the insurance industry, resulting in many people in several counties being unable to timely act or respond to their insurance needs. The Governor has declared the following 13 Illinois counties as disaster areas:

Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington, Woodford, Douglas, Jasper, Pope, Wabash, Wayne and Will

In accordance with the Illinois Department of Insurance issued Bulletin 2013-18, we will take the following step to accommodate our affected policyholders:

  • Policyholders in the affected areas who may have been sent a cancellation or non-renewal notice for non-payment of premium on or after November 10, 2013 will be notified that coverage remains in effect. No new cancellation or nonrenewal notices will be sent to affected policyholders until January 11, 2014 or considering reasonable circumstances, at a later date.
  • For policy provisions or other requirements that impose a time limit for an policyholder to perform any act, including submission of a claim or proof of loss, reporting of information, submission of bills, or payment of funds, the policyholders in the affected areas will be granted an extension of a minimum of 60 days from the last date allowed or required under the terms of the policy.
  • We will make exceptions to policy requirements or to rating or underwriting rules when warranted by the circumstances, to include where a policyholder is displaced from his or her home and is unable to obtain non-emergency medical services from a network provider.

For any disaster-related dispute or issue, policyholders may call the Illinois Department of Insurance’s toll-free complaint hotline at 1-866-445-5364, or file a complaint online at: